using pigs for cadaver scent

Cadaver / Victim Recovery / Body Dogs / Human Remain Detection section

using pigs for cadaver scent

Postby reeny08 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:58 am

I have just received some pig flesh/blood and bone. I am using a Labrador/Retriever for cadaver work. I am new to this type of thing. How do i go about getting my dog used to the scent and do i need to bury bits and pieces in the ground to get the dog used to the scent of rotting pig?
reeny08

Re: using pigs for cadaver scent

Postby Daryl » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:40 am

Hi Reeny

Where are you based and are you part of a team?

Have you taught your dog any search work before?

Do you have standards that you are aspiring to be assessed against?

With this information the guys on the forum may be able to help a little more accurately. I can also tell you how I did it with my dog, but as always there are many ways to do it...
Daryl Toogood
President
Berkshire Search & Rescue Dogs

"I can explain it in Dog, but you only listen in Human."
-- Gaspode the wonder dog
Daryl

Postby reeny08 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:44 am

i am based in Melbourne, Australia. I do not have any affiliation with SAR work. Im just a dog trainer that is interested in teaching my dog this type of work, so hopefully she may be of use down the track.
reeny08

Postby Daryl » Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:58 am

I'm not sure of legalities in Australia so you would need to look for yourself, but in the UK we cant put piglets etc in water that is linked to the water table (at least the last time I heard anyway) so its worth finding out about things like that.

Anyway, the way that I did it (and remember that there are lots of ways to do this) was to put a small amount of pig skin into a treat ball. Make sure that the skin wont come out as a treat....

We played an easy search game first where the dog saw me through the ball into undergrowth or long grass which he then found and brought back to me.